I'm back!

Posted on July 27, 2023

I’m back! The long medical treatment is over.

My gitlab contributions diagram, inactive from October 2022 to July 2023

[End September 2022]
I was not able to hear in my right ear.

[October 2022]
After 3 days the situation worsened: acute vertigo and sensorineural deafness (profound hearing loss) in one ear (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sensorineural_hearing_loss#Sudden_sensorineural_hearing_loss), without an identifiable cause, probably:

[October 2022 - January 2023]
I spent months with doctors (ENT, cardiologist, neurologist, radiologist), in hospitals, clinics, emergency, magnetic resonance imaging centre, hyperbaric chamber, bed with nausea and vomit.

The therapy was: hyperbaric chamber [Monday - Friday], a lot of cortisone and more than 10 pills per day. The therapy finished in January with the end of the improvements, “fortunately” from ~90 db to ~50 db. I don’t hear voices (the problems remain https://www.hearingbest.com/hearing-loss-articles/the-special-problems-of-single-sided-deafness/) but I can try a hearing aid insead of a cochlear implant (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cochlear_implant).

[December 2022 - January 2023]
Obviously I was inactive: no code, no new project, no improvement, no commit, no email. A little something during the last time of medical treatment:


[February 2023 - June 2023]
New problem: sudden and severe tinnitus (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tinnitus) in the “bad” ear. It was a whistle and disturbed the understanding of voices even in the good ear. Again the theray for several months. Fortunately tinnitus has become “acceptable”, I always hear a noise like a fan or air conditioner, not a whistle.


[Now]
A solution for tinnitus and sensorineural hearing loss does not exist. I am looking for a good hearing care professional. 🦻🙂👂

Anyway I’m back in front of a computer! I have over 50,000 unread emails! I’ll probably never read them, sorry. You could resend your emails if they are important.

Finally I am restarting to code! Some new/update project is coming soon, stay tuned!